Technical Questions

ACI Committees, Membership, and Staff have answered common questions on a variety of concrete related topics.

Standard specifications for cements

Q. Are there standard specifications for cements?


A. Yes. The ASTM Standard Specification for Portland Cement (ASTM C150) provides for five types as follows:

- Type I—The standard product that has long been in use with no limitation on the proportions of the major oxides (CaO, SiO2, Al2O3, Fe2O3), also referred to as “ordinary portland cement.”

- Type II—This cement possesses moderate resistance to sulfate attack because of certain limitations on composition. Sometimes called moderate-heat cement, it is intermediate between Type I and the low-heat Type IV cement. If moderate heat of hydration is desired, however, the optional limit on heat of hydration should be invoked when specifying or ordering.

- Type III—High-early-strength portland cement is often produced by grinding Type I clinker finer or by altering the chemical composition of the cement.

- Type IV—Low-heat portland cement. Not currently made in the United States and limited in production elsewhere.

- Type V—Sulfate-resisting portland cement with appropriate limits on composition.

In addition, portland cement can also be specified under ASTM C1157 (Standard Performance Specification for Hydraulic Cement) as:

- Type GU—general use.

- Type HE— high early strength.

- Type MS—moderate sulfate resistance.

- Type HS—high sulfate resistance.

- Type MH—moderate heat of hydration.

- Type LH—low heat of hydration.

Portland cement is also used in making blended cements according to ASTM C595 or ASTM C1157.


References:  SP-1(02); ACI 225R-19; E3-13; ASTM C150; ASTM C1157; ASTM C595; ASTM C1157

Topics in Concrete: Cementitious Material; Concrete Fundamentals

Other Sources for Answers

Search other resources on the ACI website for answers to technical questions