Certification Programs

Aggregate Testing Technician - Level 2

An Aggregate Testing Technician—Level 2 is an individual who has demonstrated the knowledge and ability to properly perform, record, and report the results of advanced laboratory procedures for aggregates.

Scope and Knowledge:

This program requires demonstration of the knowledge and hands-on skills covered on the Job Task Analysis (JTA):

JTA for ACI Aggregate Testing Technician—Level 2

The JTA is a detailed list of specific points of knowledge and skills that may be included in the examinations for this ACI Certification program. ACI urges candidates to use the JTA to prepare for the certification exams.

The program requires a working knowledge of the following AASHTO and/or ASTM standards:

  • AASHTO T 96-02(2010)/ASTM C131/C131M – 01*—Resistance to Degradation of Small-Size Coarse Aggregate by Abrasion and Impact in the Los Angeles Machine
  • ASTM C535 – 12—Resistance to Degradation of Large-Size Coarse Aggregate by Abrasion and Impact in the Los Angeles Machine
  • AASHTO T 112-00(2012)/ASTM C142 – 97—Clay Lumps and Friable Particles in Aggregate
  • ASTM D4791 – 10—Flat Particles, Elongated Particles, or Flat and Elongated Particles in Coarse Aggregate
  • AASHTO T 19M/T 19-09/ASTM C29/C29M – 07—Bulk Density (Unit Weight) and Voids in Aggregate
  • AASHTO T 104-99(2011)/ASTM C88 – 13*—Soundness of Aggregates by Use of Sodium Sulfate or Magnesium Sulfate
  • AASHTO T 113-06(2010)/ASTM C123 – 04—Lightweight Pieces in Aggregate
  • AASHTO T 176-08/ASTM D2419 – 14—Plastic Fines in Graded Aggregates and Soils by Use of the Sand Equivalent Test
  • AASHTO T 304-11/ASTM C1252 – 06—Uncompacted Void Content of Fine Aggregate
  • ASTM D5821 – 01(2006)—Determining the Percentage of Fractured Particles in Coarse Aggregate

*Written exam only

Certification Requirements:
ACI will grant certification only to those applicants who meet the following requirements:

  1. Hold current certification as an ACI Aggregate Testing Technician—Level 1, and
  2. Obtain a passing grade on the ACI written examination, and
  3. Successfully complete the ACI performance examination.

The two-hour written examination is open-book and consists of approximately 100 multiple-choice questions. There are 8 to 12 questions on each of the standards.

To pass the written examination, both of the following conditions must be met:

  1. At least 60% correct for each of the required standards, and
  2. A minimum score of 70% overall.

The performance examination is closed-book and requires actual demonstration of the required standards. The examinee is judged on his/her ability to correctly perform or describe all of the required procedures for each standard.

Certification is valid for a period of five years from the date of successfully completing all requirements.

Recertification requires successful completion of both the written and performance examinations.

Find a Testing Location Near You:



Study Material:
Go to the ACI Bookstore on this website to order and/or obtain current pricing on any items listed below:

CP–45, 6th Edition: Technician Workbook for ACI Certification of Aggregate Testing Technician—Level 2

This workbook contains information about the ACI Aggregate Testing Technician—Level 2 (ATT2) certification program, performance checklists, and study materials for the certification examinations.